Fountain Valley, CA 92708
California overtime laws require that any employee working overtime in company needs to be paid a rate of 1 ½ times of that of employee’s usual pay. Overtime is calculated for every hour beyond a regular 8 hour work day or any time over 40 hours of work scheduled in a week. You may also be entitled to overtime pay even if you are a salaried employee and do not meet the exemption status defined by law.
If you have been injured at the workplace, you are entitled to compensation through worker compensation from your employer. If your employer did not have workers compensation insurance, you have the right to sue the employer in civil court for your medical expenses and lost wages, as well as pain and suffering, which aren’t allowed in a workers’ comp case.
California is an at-will employment state, meaning employers can discipline or fire employees “at-will,” without either needing or providing a reason to the employee. However, if the termination was discriminatory, such as getting fired because of your race, religion, gender, sexual orientation or pregnancy, this may qualify as wrongful termination.
It is illegal for your Employer to discriminate against you based on the following:
-Race -Color -National Origin -Religion -Pregnancy -Disability -Age (40 and older)
-Genetic Information -Marital Status -Sexual Orientation/Identity -Medical Condition
-AIDS/HIV -Political Affiliation -Military Status -Domestic Abuse Victim
If you feel that you have been discriminated at the workplace based on any of the above, our firm can help you.
Missed Meal and Rest Breaks
You are entitled to meal and rest breaks depending on the number of hours you work in a given shift per work day. Generally, you are entitled to one 30-minute unpaid meal period for every five consecutive hours worked. Employees that work at least 4 hours a day are entitled to a minimum 10 minute break.
The California Labor Code and the Wage Orders prohibit an Employer from employing a non-exempt employee for more than five hours without providing an unpaid meal period of at least 30 minutes. If the employee works more than 10 hours per day, he or she must be given a second 30-minute meal period.
California Minimum Wage is $10.50/hour
Effective January 1, 2017, the minimum wage in California is $10.50 per hour. By 2022, the minimum wage will increase to $15.00 per hour.
If you are receiving less than $10.50 an hour, you are entitled to recovery. Contact us to learn you legal rights.
What our clients are saying..
I had a great experience with this law firm. My attorney educated me on my employment claim and kept me in the loop throughout the entire legal process. I was very happy with the result of my case and would recommend this law firm to anyone looking for aggressive, knowledgeable attorneys to fight for their legal rights.
Expert Employment Lawyers in California
Wrongful Termination/ Retaliation
Harassment / Hostile Work Environment
Meal and Rest Break Violations
Wage and Hour/Misclassification/Unpaid Overtime
Entitlement to Employee Benefits
Our law firm has a proven track record in in assisting California employees with their employment related cases. We are here to fight for your rights and get you what you deserve.
How much will it cost?
We work on a NO RECOVERY, NO FEE CONTINGENCY BASIS, which means there is absolutely no cost to you unless we are recover money for your case.
If you believe your rights have been violated by your employer, contact us for a FREE consultation. Call us now at (888) 558-5998 or fill out our free Case Evaluation Form online and we will contact you within 24 hours of your inquiry.
Our California Employment Lawyers service the following areas: